About Us
sponsored by ecclesiastical
Supporting over 16,000 cathedral and church buildings of The Church of England
  • home page image 2
  • home page image 1
  • frontpage1
  • kids banner
  • slideshow5
  • choir banner
  • slideshow4
  • ChurchCare home banner dark2
  • 16,000 buildings. One resource.
  • 16,000 buildings. One resource.
  • 16,000 buildings. One resource.
  • 16,000 buildings. One resource.
  • 16,000 buildings. One resource.
  • 16,000 buildings. One resource.
  • 16,000 buildings. One resource.
  • 16,000 buildings. One resource.

About ChurchCare

This glossary covers common terms and initials you might come across when dealing with the maintenance, conservation and development of church and cathedral buildings.

Click here to see a Glossary of Terms.

We campaign on behalf of church buildings, and work alongside government, the Church and other denominations, English Heritage and other heritage bodies to keep cathedrals and churches in their vision.

We represent church building interests at international, national, diocesan and local levels.

Click on the links on the left-hand side to find out more.

Click on the left-hand links to access the latest news stories from the world of church buildings

Why not follow @CofE_ChurchCare on Twitter to receive regular updates or @CofECampaign for green news ? Click here for more information.

The ChurchCare eBulletin comes out three times a year and features news, events, guidance, advice and updates. To receive the eBulletin visit our home page and sign up via the newsletter sign-up tool in the bottom right-hand corner.

You can also take a look at our archived news items here.

Our programmes are supported by various conservation committees which bring together a team of international experts in the fields of conservation, architecture, archaeology, art history and liturgy. These committees cover a diverse range of technical fields to ensure that all projects benefit from expert advice and promote best practice.

Current membership of our committees is listed below:

Bells Committee

  • Dr Hilary Taylor (Chair)
  • James Clarke (Exeter DAC Bell Adviser)
  • Douglas Kent (Technical & Research Director, SPAB)
  • Andrew Lamb (Musical Instrument Conservator, Bate Collection, University of Oxford)
  • Graham Pledger (Ely DAC Bell Adviser)
  • Christopher Povey (Engineer, CCCBR Towers & Belfries Committee member)
  • Christopher Ridley (Estate Manager and Bell Ringer)
  • David Thackray (Former Head of Archeology, National Trust)

Church Fabric Repairs Committee

  • Marcus Chantrey (Chair) (Architect, Benjamin & Beauchamp Architects)
  • Emily Gee (Head of Designation, Historic England)
  • Judith Leigh (Wales Heritage Group member)
  • Jonathan Louth (Architect, Jonathan Louth Architects)
  • Nicholas Rank (Architect, Buttress Fuller Alsop Williams; Cathedral Architect for Carlisle Cathedral, Lincoln Cathedral & Southwell Minster)

Clocks Committee

  • Matthew Saunders (Chair)
  • Andy Burdon (Turret Clock Researcher)
  • Paul Cradock (Senior Horological Conservator, Royal Collection Trust)
  • Derek Frampton (Portsmouth DAC Clock Adviser)
  • Rupert Griffin (Oxford DAC Clock Adviser)
  • John Griffiths (Former Curator of Horology, Prescot Museum)
  • Peter Watkinson (Clockmaker)

Organs Committee

  • Revd Canon Robert Cooper (Chair)
  • Dr Christopher Batchelor (Organ Builder & Organist)
  • Dominic Gwynn (Organ Builder & Restorer)
  • Dr David Frostick (Organ Builder & Adviser)
  • Canon Dr Nicholas Thistlethwaite (Historian & Adviser)
  • Mimi Waitzman (Deputy Keeper, Deputy Keeper of Musical Instruments, Horniman Museum)
  • David Wood (Organ Builder)
  • Richard Young (Organ Builder)

Paintings & Wallpaintings Committee

  • Alison Richmond (Chair) (CEO, Icon, The Institute of Conservation)
  • Dr James Bettley (Architectural Historian)
  • Ruth Bubb (Conservator, Ruth Bubb Conservation of Paintings)
  • Rupert Featherstone (Director, Hamilton Kerr Institute, University of Cambridge)
  • Annabelle Monaghan (Conservator, Annabelle Monaghan Conservation)
  • Dr Robyn Pender (Senior Architectural Conservator, Historic England)
  • Sarah Pinchin (Commissioned Treatment Coordinator, Historic Royal Palaces)
  • Dr David Watt (Chartered Buildings Surveyor & Historic Buildings Consultant, Hutton & Rostron)

Sculpture and Furnishings Committee

  • Dr James Bettley (Chair) (Architectural Historian)
  • Sally Badham (President, Church Monuments Society)
  • Dr Nigel Blades (Preventive Conservation Adviser(Environment), National Trust)
  • John Burton (Architect)
  • Dr Tobias Capwell (Curator of Arms and Armour, Wallace Collection)
  • Dr Nicola Coldstream (Architectural Historian)
  • Alex Coode (Heritage Blacksmith Partnership)
  • Dr Richard Edgcumbe (Senior Curator Metalwork Collection, Victoria & Albert Museum)
  • Nicole Gilroy (Head of Book Conservation, Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford)
  • Jürgen Huber (Senior Furniture Conservator, Wallace Collection)
  • Marion Kite (Head of Furniture, Textiles and Fashion Conservation, Victoria & Albert Museum)
  • Steve Newman (Senior Metals Conservator, National Museums Liverpool)
  • Heather Newton (Head of Conservation, Canterbury Cathedral)
  • Vanessa Simeoni (Head of Conservation, Westminster Abbey)
  • Clara Willett (Architectural Conservator, Historic England)

Stained Glass Committee

  • Henry Russell (Chair)
  • Jill Channer (Independent Historic Building & Architectural Glass Consultant)
  • Steve Clare (Conservator, Holy Well Glass)
  • Martin Crampin (Stained Glass Historian)
  • Tobit Curteis, (Director, Tobit Curteis Associates)
  • Dr Alison Gilchrist (Conservator, Barley Studio)
  • Tom Küpper (Conservator, Lincoln Cathedral)
  • Nick Teed (Conservator, York Glaziers Trust)

Twitter Updates


Job Alert! We are currently recruiting for an Open and Sustainable Churches officer. The role includes working on… https://t.co/b0zYLX3XjD


RT @godsacre: February brings with it a new 'feature of the month' For this month we have chosen to highlight preaching crosses... Here is…

Latest Churchcare News

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12

Upcoming Events

Festival Churches: Mission and Community

The Diocese of Sheffield and the Association of Festival Churches invite all those concerned with the care and imaginative use of churches to a day conference. This will be especially relevant to Diocesan Officers and senior clergy as well as incumbents, churchwardens and PCC members who are considering alternative patterns of worship, and how their church might widen its appeal to the local community.

March 25th, Sheffield Cathedral

Book on Eventbrite.

The programme can be accessed here.

The Phoenix Renewed: Sustainability of Post-War Churches and Cathedrals.

Mon 18 – Tues 19 March 2019, Coventry Cathedral.